Smarter Than Pancakes

Saturday, April 19, 2008

Opinions

Filed under: Opinions — shaye3 @ 3:52 pm
Tags: , ,

Here are a few things that are just not right in my opinion:

  • “Chocolate” made with vegetable oil rather than cocoa butter. (There’s a reason those football shaped chocolate Easter eggs are so nasty.)
  • Of the 35 million pounds of antibiotics consumed each year, 24 million of those are consumed by livestock. (Livestock that probably wouldn’t need antibiotics if they were fed the food they were designed to eat and given adequate room to move around.)
  • The practice of boiling ribs before grilling. (Yuck! PLEASE tell me you don’t boil the flavor out of your ribs! If you can’t smoke them, at least throw them in a low oven for several hours so the connective tissue can cook properly.)
  • Restaurant servers who call me “Hon” or “Sweetie”. (If you aren’t in my immediate family, please don’t use false terms of endearment with me.)
  • People who salt food before they even taste it. (Nuff said.)
  • People who think a meal isn’t a meal if it isn’t comprised of a meat and two veg. (That is a hard mindset to escape from since it was drummed in many of us from such an early age. Learning to eat vegetarian was tricky! And I swear we really don’t eat meat that often, I just have a lot of opinions about meat.)
  • People who think they won’t like something before trying it. (I tell my eight year old that we develop new taste buds every seven years. Even if he didn’t like something the last time he tried it, his new taste buds might like it more.)
  • The fact that I still haven’t mastered making rice on the stovetop. (I can make it in the oven and I can make it in my rice cooker, but my stovetop efforts are always a dismal failure.)

Here are some of my loves:

  • The discovery that bacon can be cooked in the oven. (Throw it on a rack on a sheet pan at 400 until it’s done to your liking. No turning, no curled pieces, no spattering, very little mess. Awesome!)
  • Small appliances. (The number of small appliances I own borders on obscene. I have an extra closet off my kitchen to keep them in, and I inherited most of them–which is my favorite excuse for having so many.)
  • Sharp knives. (I hadn’t realized how dull my knives had gotten until I got a couple of new ones long long ago. I swear it’s like being a new person!)
  • Seasonal produce. (I live in Indiana, which means we don’t get fresh local produce until at least late May–if we’re lucky! I wait with baited breath for our farmers’ markets to open!)
  • The *idea* of having a vegetable garden. (We haven’t actually planted a vegetable garden in years, but I’m very excited about the garden we’re currently planning for this summer.)
  • Successful new recipes. (Let me tell you, I’ve tried some real clunkers. And sometimes it isn’t even my fault!)
  • Having people over for dinner. (My New Year’s resolution for 2007 was to try to have someone over for dinner once a week. We didn’t make it *every* week, but we sure had a great time when we did have people over.)
  • My laptop. (Between my recipe software and all of the recipes and food advice that I’ve gotten from various sources on the internet, I wouldn’t be half the cook I am today without my laptop.)

What are some of your peeves/faves??? (Inquiring minds want to know!)

4 Comments »

  1. I’m full of opinions, but I’m drawing a blank. lmbo!

    Shaye, I tagged you for a six word memoir–you can see the rules on my blog, and you can choose to play or not, up to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Elle — Tuesday, April 22, 2008 @ 1:18 pm | Reply

  2. I won’t even tell you how old I am, but just suffice it to say, I am considered old, and I just discovered that bacon in the oven miracle. I do put a sheet of foil on the baking pan, throw the bacon on, and enjoy. No fuss, no mess.

    In Texas, we can plant our tomatoes in early March, and we ate our first of the season (we split a small one) for breakfast last Friday. I just have tomatoes, green beans, okra, and herbs, but it is still fun and delicious.

    Since I retired, I am trying more new recipes all the time–all from blogs like yours.

    I try to sharpen my knives at least once a month–it’s amazing how much better they work!!

    Glad to have found your blog. Jancd

    Comment by Jancd — Monday, May 5, 2008 @ 11:52 pm | Reply

  3. Jancd,
    Thanks for your comment!
    I am SO jealous of your tomatoes!! We won’t have any ready to eat until early August at the very earliest here in Indiana. My chives, oregano and mint have come back; but we’ve *just* passed our last freeze date so we started our garden yesterday.
    Isn’t that bacon thing amazing? The only drawback is that now we eat bacon far too frequently. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Comment by shaye3 — Tuesday, May 6, 2008 @ 7:30 am | Reply

  4. L, Thanks for the tag!
    Coming up with a six word memoir is MUCH harder than I thought it would be. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Comment by shaye3 — Tuesday, May 6, 2008 @ 7:31 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

