Smarter Than Pancakes

Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Fruit on the bottom (and in the middle and on top) Yogurt

Filed under: Uncategorized — shaye3 @ 4:58 pm
Tags: ,

(In keeping with scripture my recent breakfast theme.)

There are certain restaurants around that have started selling what they call “Fruit and Yogurt Parfaits”.  I looked at the ingredients one time, and trust me when I say you don’t wanna know how little actual food and how many chemicals are involved. I can tell you, however, that their parfaits are not the healthy treat they want you to believe they are.

Mine, on the other hand, are just yogurt and fruit. No yucky chemical additives whatsoever. (Yep, you can actually DO that!)

All Natural Yogurt Parfaits

1 quart of plain, lowfat yogurt (If you’re not using homemade, make sure the brand you buy doesn’t have any gelatin or it won’t drain. I’ll post my homemade yogurt recipe as soon as I make more and take pictures.)

2 Tbs frozen apple juice concentrate – or to taste

1 tsp vanilla (I happened to use vanilla paste, so you can see the vanilla seeds in the yogurt if you look closely.)

Fresh or frozen fruit (I used frozen strawberries and fresh bananas for the one pictured.)

  1. First set up your rig–Put either a coffee filter or some cheesecloth in a strainer and put the strainer in a bowl.
  2. Pour the entire container of yogurt into the lined strainer, cover it, and put it in your fridge overnight.
  3. The next day, take your drained yogurt and throw it in a bowl. (You can use the whey that drains off as a substitute for the water in a yeast bread recipe, or you can add it to a bean dish to make a complete protein if you wanna.)
  4. Add the apple juice concentrate and vanilla and mix well.  (Sometimes I whisk the yogurt if it seems lumpy.)
  5. Here’s where the magic starts!  All you have to do is layer the yogurt with whatever fruit you want.  For the one in the picture, I just threw about five frozen, unsweetened, whole strawberries in my mini-food processor with about half a banana and pureed.  I layered the fruit puree and the yogurt, took a picture, and then offered it to my kid.  (It was gone in about a minute and a half.)  You can also use chopped fresh or frozen fruit or jam if you’re so inclined!  You can even throw some granola in there for fun! Do what ever the heck you want, it’s your yogurt!

In case you’re wondering, my strange child immediately stirred the layers together before he ate it.  He prefers blended yogurt, and it didn’t occur to him NOT to stir it. He thought you were supposed to.  😉

2 Comments »

  1. Shaye, you’re a yogurt rockstar! Love this idea!

    Comment by Elle — Tuesday, May 20, 2008 @ 8:00 pm | Reply

  2. That looks pretty tasty! I have decided I like this child of yours… 🙂 Sometimes I stir stuff too, like ice cream sundaes. Mmmm, all the flavors get all mixed in so there isn’t a plain bite in the dish!

    Comment by the delish — Wednesday, May 21, 2008 @ 10:52 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

